Stages of Tooth Decay

Stages Tooth Decay

Stages Tooth Decay

Stages of Tooth Decay

Stages of tooth decay include the following,

Stage 1: white spots

Stage 2: Enamel decay

Stage 3: Tooth decay

Stage 4: pulp decay

Stage 5: an abscess is formed

Stage 6: tooth loss

Tooth decay is one of the most common causes of dental pain. Tooth decay begins when enamel begins to collapse. Decay results from acid damage to the tooth structure produced by bacteria that live in plaques, which is the adhesive layer made up of protein in one’s saliva that metabolizes sugary foods left in the mouth. Some forms of tooth decay can be treated. By maintaining good oral hygiene habits and going regularly to the dentist.

The first stage of tooth decay

begins when white areas appear on the surface of the tooth due to the loss of calcium and the accumulation of plaque. Then bacteria in the plaque begin to metabolize sugars from the food consumed, the accumulation of these acids causes the deterioration of the tooth enamel, a process referred to as the removal of minerals from the tooth surface. At this point, tooth decay may still be treatable, which should be discussed with a dental professional, such as using the appropriate brush technique, a toothpaste containing fluoride, and applying topical fluoride treatment.

The second stage: tooth decay:

In the second stage of tooth decay, the enamel begins to break under the surface of the tooth. At this point, the natural remineralization process cannot restore the appropriate enamel and minerals, causing the lesion to form inside the tooth.

The third stage: tooth decay:

The third stage of tooth decay is also known as ivory decay. Left untreated, bacteria and acids will continue to dissolve the enamel and the risk of lesions that reach the dentin. The dentin is the part of the tooth that is between the enamel and the pulp. When caries passes to dentin, the level of pain begins to intensify and acute pain in the affected teeth can suffer. When enough sub-surface enamel is weakened by loss of calcium and phosphate minerals, the enamel collapses and the dental cavity is formed. At this point, dental restoration is likely to be required to restore the tooth.

Fourth stage: pulp decay:

The core is the center of the teeth. It consists of living tissues and cells that are referred to as ivory cells. Ivory pulp cells are produced, which act as connective tissue between the enamel and the pulp. If the pulp of the tooth becomes infected with bacteria, pus is a form that kills blood vessels and nerves in the tooth unintentionally. This is known as dental pain and can cause persistent pain. At this point, the most common treatment method is root canal treatment.

Stages Tooth Decay

Fifth Stage: Formation of abscess

Abscess is the final stage of tooth decay and by far the most painful. Once the infection reaches the root tip of the teeth, the gums and tongue often swell, which affects speech and puts you at risk of other diseases. At this point, you may need additional oral surgery.

Sixth Stage: tooth loss

If left untreated at every stage of tooth decay, the teeth will be lost and must be pulled out. Tooth decay is easy to control. If you keep your mouth and teeth clean.

And stick to strong oral treatment with toothpastes, mouthwashes with fluoride and a brush like a pro with an electric toothbrush. A strong oral care system can maintain oral health and is the best preventive measure to avoid tooth decay. Avoid eating a diet rich in sugar and eating between meals. Drinking water can also help produce saliva to continue to feed the enamel and clean the mouth of course, visiting your dentist at Ram Clinics for regular check-ups helps to prevent tooth decay and maintain oral care in a healthy way.

Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Book Now